Mar 28 - 29 2015
Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3

Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3

at Music Center at Strathmore

Haochen Zhang, piano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

In Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy, doomed love resonates deeply as Shakespeare’s tragedy and the composer’s tortured personal life collide in this dramatic masterpiece. Full of Spanish folk melodies, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol developed into an orchestral work showcasing the virtuosity of various instrumentalists. The extraordinary pianist Haochen Zhang, Gold Medal winner of the 2009 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, comes to the National Philharmonic as the soloist for the “Mount Everest” of piano concertos, Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 3.

Tchaikovsky            Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy

Rimsky-Korsakov    Capriccio Espagnol

Rachmaninoff          Piano Concerto No. 3

Admission Info



Dates & Times

2015/03/28 - 2015/03/29

Location Info

Music Center at Strathmore

5301 Tuckerman Lane, North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385

Accessibility Info