Feb 28 2021
Music That Inspires

Music That Inspires

Presented by National Philharmonic at Online/Virtual Space

What is art, and how does it come into being? How is all art connected, and what does it have to do with being intrinsically human? In this concert, the compositions speak to the interconnectedness of visual and aural art, and how the two often combine to create something more than the sum of their parts. Composer Barbara York finds inspiration from the paintings of Grant Wood. Saint-Saëns’s Danse Macabre takes its origin from illustrated sermon texts. It is hoped that this performance will lead audience members to new acts of artistry, whatever form that may take, because there is art in everything.

Laura Colgate, violin
Elizabeth Hill, piano
Willie Clark, tuba
Cheryl Hill, clarinet

Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata No. 4 in c minor, BWV 1017

Siciliano – Largo

Robert Schumann, Fantasiestücke for clarinet and piano

Zart und mit Ausdruck
Lebhaft, leicht
Rasch und mit Feuer

Camille Saint-Saens, Danse Macabre, Op. 40
Barbara York, Four Paintings by Grant Wood

Stone City, Iowa
Young Corn
American Gothic
Parson Weem’s Fable

Florence Price, Adoration arranged by Elaine Fine for violin and piano

Admission Info


Dates & Times

2021/02/28 - 2021/02/28

Location Info

Online/Virtual Space