CultureSpotMC

Big Screen Makes Magic All Around Montgomery County

Making summer evenings a big-screen movie experience in your own community -- indoors or under the stars, free or low cost – is a wonderful option for summer evenings in Montgomery County. Here’s a listing.…

Making summer evenings a big-screen movie experience in your own community — indoors or under the stars, free or low cost – is a wonderful option for summer evenings in Montgomery County. Here’s a listing.

Bethesda

15th Annual Bethesda Outdoor Movies
Information: www.bethesda.org | (301) 215-6660
Admission: Free
Location: Bethesda’s Woodmont Triangle, Corner of Norfolk & Auburn avenues
Time: 9 PM
Notes: A limited number of chairs will be provided. Bring your own lawn chairs.

  • Wednesday, July 24 10 Things I Hate About You (PG13)
  • Thursday, July 25 Won’t You Be My Neighbor (PG13)
  • Friday, July 26 Crazy Rich Asians (PG13)
  • Saturday, July 27 As Good As It Gets (PG13)

Gaithersburg

Summer Movie Series
Information: gaithersburgmd.gov | (301) 258-6350
Location: Casey Community Center, 810 South Frederick Ave. (Indoors)
Admission: $2 (RecXpress)
Notes: Feel free to bring a cushion or blanket to get cozy.
Time: 7 – 9 PM

  • Friday, June 21 Home (PG)
  • Friday, July 12 How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (PG)
  • Friday, Aug. 9 Captain Marvel (PG13)

Location: Arts Barn, 311 Kent Square Road (Indoors)
Admission: $18, $15 in advance (Ticketfly)
Notes: Celebrate the 20th anniversary of the groundbreaking film with a presentation by co-director Eduardo Sánchez.
Time: 6 PM Pub Open, 7 PM Discussion, 7:30 PM Film

  • Wednesday, July 17 The Blair Witch Project (R)

Location: Kentlands Mansion Lawn, 320 Kent Square Road (Outdoors)
Admission: Free
Notes: Popcorn are free. Light concessions, drinks, beer and wine available for cash purchase. Bring a chair or blanket.
Time: 7:30 – 11 PM Movies start just after sunset.

  • Friday, July 19 The Incredibles (PG)
  • Friday, Aug. 2 Spaceballs (PG)
  • Friday, Aug. 16 The Greatest Showman (PG)

 

Kentlands Mansion evening movies

Location: Observatory Park, 100 DeSellum Ave. (Outdoors)
Admission: Free
Notes: Celebrating the 50th anniversary of man’s first steps on the moon with the first-ever movie night at Observatory Park. Bring a chair or blanket and your own snacks. Stay afterwards to view the Perseids meteor shower.
Time: 9:10 PM Movie starts just after sunset.

  • Aug. 10 The Dish (PG-13)

Location: Robertson Park Youth Center, 801 Rabbitt Road (Outdoors)
Admission: Free
Notes: Bring a chair or blanket.
Time: 7 – 10:30 PM Movie starts just after sunset.

  • Friday, Aug. 23 Ralph Breaks the Internet (PG)

Montgomery Parks (Germantown)

Movie Night South Germantown Recreational Park
Information: www.montgomeryparks.org/special-events
Admission: Free
Location: 14501 Schaeffer Road, Boyds
Time: 8:30 – 11 PM
Notes: Outdoors. Bring chairs, blankets, food. Free popcorn

  • Friday, June 14 Mary Poppins Returns (PG)

Poolesville

Whalen Commons Summer Movie Series
Information: www.poolesvillemd.gov/347/Summer-Movies
Admission: Free
Location: Whalen Commons on Fisher Avenue
Time: 8:30 PM
Notes: Outdoors. Bring picnic blankets or chairs.

  • Friday, June 14 Mary Poppins Returns (PG)
  • Friday, July 12 Teen Beach Movie (PG)
  • Friday, Aug. 23 The Goonies (PG)

Rockville

Movies in the Parks

Information: www.rockvillemd.gov/1755/Movies-in-the-Parks, For inclement weather updates, call 240-314-5002.
Admission: Free
Notes: Outdoors. Bring chairs, blankets, food and beverages.
Time: About 8 PM — Movies begin at dusk.
Location: Calvin Park, 1248 Gladstone Drive

  • Wednesday, Aug. 7 Small Foot (PG)

Location: Woodley Gardens Park, 900 Nelson St.

  • Wednesday, Aug. 14 The Mighty Ducks (PG) Aug. 14

Location: Maryvale Park, 812 First St.

  • Wednesday, Aug. 21 The Little Mermaid (G)

Location: Potomac Woods Park, 1380 Stratton Drive

  • Wednesday, Aug. 28 Sherlock Gnomes (PG)

Montgomery College Rockville (Indoors)

The Monday Night Film Series (art films)
Information: www.mcblogs.montgomerycollege.edu/reppac/film-series/ | 240-567-5301
Admission: Free
Location: Robert E. Parilla Performing Arts Center, Montgomery College, 51 Mannakee St.
Notes: All movies start at 7 PM

  • Monday, June 17 The Emigrants – Swedish (English Subtitles)
  • Thursday, June 20 (Special Event) Angels are Made of Light-(Documentary) Dari/Pushto/Arabic/English (English Subtitles)
  • Monday, June 24 The New Land-Swedish (English Subtitles
  • Monday, July 1 Tom Jones-United Kingdom
  • Monday, July 8 Sword of Doom-Japanese (English Subtitles)
  • Monday, July 15 A Taste of Honey-United Kingdom
  • Monday, July 22 Ariel-Finnish (English Subtitles)
  • Monday, July 25 Abu (DCSAFF Special Event) English
  • Monday, July 29 And the Ship Sails On-Italian (English Subtitles
  • Monday, Aug. 5 A Generation-Polish (English Subtitles)
  • Monday, Aug. 12 A Hard Day’s Night-United Kingdom
  • Monday, Aug. 19 The Inheritance-Japanese (English Subtitles)
  • Thursday, Aug. 22 Sir (DCSAFF Special Event)-Hindi /English | Marathi (English subtitles)
  • Monday, Aug. 26 The Night Porter-Italian (English Subtitles)

Silver Spring

AFI Outdoor Movie Series: Silver Screens on Sonny’s Green

Information: AFI.com/Silver
Admission: Free
Location: Sonny’s Green at The Blairs District, accessible from High Park Lane or The Blairs Shopping Center (1290 East West Highway) parking lot
Time: Films begin at sundown, between 8 and 8:30 PM

  • July 5: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (PG)
  • July 19: The Matrix (R)
  • Aug. 2: Isle of Dogs (Bring your dog!) (PG13)
  • Aug. 16: The Little Mermaid (G)
  • Aug. 30: Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure (PG)